Hypocrisy? In the Church? Surely, you jest!

Via Feminste. Short version: a seven-month pregnant woman in a Catholic hospital died. As did her viable fetuses (she was carrying twins). Dad filed a law suit, and the Catholic hospital’s defense is “that those fetuses are not persons with legal rights.”

Ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha!

Just so we’re all on the same page, this is the same religion that ran a hospital in Ireland that murdered a woman in Ireland because babby. This is the same religion that excommunicated a nun for saving a woman’s life. A fetus is a person, I guess, unless the Church is threatened with a costly lawsuit. Because hypocrisy is easier than admitting they just hate women.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hypocrisy? In the Church? Surely, you jest!

  1. sj says:

    You know, I was laughing last night when re-reading Perfume because the church’s stance was that an INFANT wasn’t a legitimate human being, and I wondered when that had changed.

    Apparently it still hasn’t.

    WTF.

  2. Raunak says:

    Enjoyed the post…I wonder if that bars me from Heaven 🙂

What do you think?