Daily Prompt: I hate this game

Daily Prompt: Burning Down the House.

Today’s daily prompt ask us if our house was on fire and you can grab 5 things, what would you grab.

I’ve played something similar in real life, and this game is no fun. So I’ll tell you instead what possessions I missed the most when I lost at this game.

1) a basic black skirt. It’s simple. It can be dressed up for a night out or dressed up for work. And I couldn’t find one in any store during the 5 months when I was away from home.

From Express.com

From Express.com

2) any of my favorite books. My sister lent me some of her favorites, but it just wasn’t the same. And I didn’t know if I should buy new copies of my books or not. I didn’t want to have two copies in case my home hadn’t been destroyed.

3) my rugby boots. Again, I didn’t know if my old boots were still ok, so I had to play in soccer cleats. Fuck that. What’s the fun of stepping on someone if you’re not wearing metal spikes on the soles of your feet?

Not what mine looked like. But pink!

4) a digital camera. I’m usually not a huge picture fan, but surprisingly, I missed this. I guess I missed taking pictures of weird things to share with my friends. Without it, how would I shown people pictures of cool things like OMG! An ibex in a parking lot!

P1010040

5) a vibrator. For serious. Yes, that is what I used your tax dollars to buy when I got some FEMA money (actually, I used FEMA money for rent, but money is fungible…). Hey, I lost everything. That included sex toys. No visual aide here. Use your imagination.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Wordpress prompts and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Daily Prompt: I hate this game

  1. Pingback: HOUSE OF CARDS « hastywords

  2. Pingback: Burning Down The House – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  3. sj says:

    Hee! This is the best post ever!

    • emmawolf says:

      I’m glad it amused you.

      Story time. My husband speaks English with an accent. (Only don’t tell him this because he thinks he doesn’t.) He came to my rugby practice once, and as we were getting ready to leave, he noticed that someone had left her boots (cleats) on the other side of the field. And he said to everyone “someone left her clits over there!” For the rest of the season, boots were referred to as clits.

  4. Pingback: True adventures with wildlife, ZOMG « Lucy’s Football

  5. Heather says:

    Hahaha! Great post.

  6. Pingback: What I need to survive… | The Hempstead Man

What do you think?

