Don’t be fooled

I stumbled upon this article this morning and wanted to share: Romney promises no abortion legislation.

When I saw this, I scratched my head and tried to figure out what it meant. Romney’s not running for a position in which he would make legislation. Did it mean that he would promise to veto any bill related to abortion that crosses his desk? No.

He’s said he’d be delighted to sign a bill banning all abortions…

Just because he said he’s not going to “pursue” abortion-related legislation doesn’t mean he still won’t fuck things up. As president, he’ll be able to use executive orders to make policy. He’ll be able to appoint Supreme Court justices AND LOWER FEDERAL COURT judges that have an anti-choice mindset.

To those of you complaining that I’m using abortion as a litmus test for politicians and judges: what of it? It’s actually a pretty good test because it’s something easily determined and it shows how the person thinks. Either the person views the world in black and white or they don’t. I think that a perspective that sees things as either black or white does not make a good leader.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

