Kushiel’s Mercy: week 2

Time for week 2, chapters 11-22. Questions by Allie.

 1) Imriel visits a few of the Houses with Astegal. If you were to visit Carey’s Terre d’Ange, would there be a particular house you’d be interested to see?

Heliotrope–the house about devotion. It interests me because D’Angelines are a bit more open minded when it comes to relationships. But then again, as Imriel said, maybe I don’t know D’Angelines so well. I wonder how it plays out in a place where the patrons know they aren’t the servants only lovers. But maybe that’s part of the play–like I know you only see the other because you have to but you really love me.

It also makes me think of Cassiel and his devotion to Elua. I had the inkling of a fanfic lurking in the back of my head about a Cassieline Brother being tempted by this house–him wanting the devotion that he was supposed to give or giving it to a member of the Night Court. There seems to be something in common with this house and Cassiel, and I want to know more about it.

2) The Carthaginians scheme was some of the most blatant magic that I think we’ve seen in the series. Given that there is a whole country of people who are not fooled, do you think they really expected to get away with it cleanly in the long-term? Do you think they have an alternative plan?

Maybe they did expect to get away with it? I don’t know what newspapers are like in Terre D’Ange, but maybe when the news reached the rest of the country, facts were distorted into something that made more sense. With the relationship between Imriel and Sidonie tearing the country apart, maybe some people would believe that she was married off to avoid Imriel and make an alliance with Carthage as a bonus. Yeah, the concerns about diluting Elua’s bloodline are still there.

To the extent that they had an alternate plan, maybe it’s just invade.

3) Barquiel l’Envers goes from a petty antagonist to one of Imriel’s only allies. Does this change your opinion of him? Do you think this adventure will alter his perception of Imriel?

It’s hard for me to answer this since it’s a reread for me. I can’t remember what I first thought of him before knowing how he helped Imriel here. Especially since a while ago I ran into a bunch of Barquiel fangirls. I really loved how Imriel was forced to turn to him for help. It was ironic and entertaining. When I first read this book and was thinking about who wasn’t in the city, my thoughts turned to Maslin. But they made peace in the last book, so I guess now it’s Barquiel’s turn.

4) We finally see Melisande again! What do you think of what she has become? Do you think she still deserves execution for her crimes?

Wow. I love this–how it all plays out–Melisande and Solon knowing what’s about to happen to Terre d’Ange and not doing anything in the hopes that they can save the day later and gain advantage. Or if Imriel would have hunted down his mother, he wouldn’t have been able to save Sidonie.

I don’t think she deserves execution, but I disagree with the death penalty.

5) What do you think will be Imriel’s key to change out of the form and mind of Leander? Do you think you would be willing to undergo such a transformation?

The transformation, sure. Everything that is to come…maybe not…

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Kushiel's Mercy readalong and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kushiel’s Mercy: week 2

  1. @lynnsbooks says:

    So interesting how Carey has managed to come up with a plot where Imriel is forced to go to L’Envers and Melisande for help – she has this way of making you dislike a person and then twisting it around so your feelings are totally messed with. Now I find myself feeling differently about L’Envers! I loved the chapter where Imriel finally spends time with Melisande – it was just wonderfully written and revealing.
    Lynn 😀

    • emmawolf says:

      I agree with everything you said here. I love Bariquel helping Imriel and I remember being so surprised by it. And just enchanted by Melisande, which was weird. I love the descriptions of her as a mother.

  2. tethyanbooks says:

    I don’t think we’ve really seen anything in Heliotrope, have we? It would be interesting to see how that dynamic works in a pleasure house. I would think they might have issues with customers and courtesans falling in love in earnest. Then again, maybe that’s okay, and their courtesans sometimes do take customers as wives/husbands? There doesn’t seem to be a huge stigma against marrying courtesans in Terre d’Ange, after all.

    “The transformation, sure. Everything that is to come…maybe not…”

    Now you’re making me nervous. I need to run off and continue reading… 🙂

  3. nrlymrtl says:

    Heliotrope is a fascinating choice. I hadn’t considered it as in my top 3 but now I can see the appeal more clearly.

    I like your idea of info coming out the capital being distorted so perhaps a good chunk of the country wouldn’t be against the Carthaginians. It makes me think of how Phedre captured the army for Ysandre – by tossing coins with her likeness on them, so they all knew she was indeed the queen.

What do you think?

