Kushiel’s Justice readalong: week 3

Lots to think about this week. Questions by Lynn. As always, since I read these before, I’m going to be careful in my answers to not give anything away.

I thought it was curious that Phedre and Joscelin joined the party to Alba – any theories. Are they about to become involved in something do you think?

I think it is at least one part they know Imriel is going through a hard time and want to try to ease the transition for him. My parents came with me when I moved to England, and it was nice having them around to help me figure things out. It did really surprise and annoy me to learn that Ysandre had never been to Alba.

I’m pleased and also curious about the mention of Hyacinthe in these chapters. What sort of role do you see him playing in the rest of this story, if any??

It’s interesting to see the Alban perception of him. He seems to be a much bigger deal there. Also, I just kind of want to shake him. He and Sibeal could easily solve this whole problem of people angry in Terre d’Ange, lovers being torn apart, people forced into loveless marriages. But no.

I’m puzzled with Phedre in these chapters and her sort of inner calm? She seems to take everything in her stride. Any thoughts on this?

Maybe she’s looking for some sort of pattern or reason behind everything. I think she’s had enough life experience to know she can’t jump to conclusions and that sometimes our first impressions are wrong.

And we have a name ‘Morwen’ what does this bring to mind if anything? Any more thoughts on the stories around the ‘Old Ones’ and the new characters that we have met?

I can’t say that the name means anything to me. I do think a lot of the legend behind the old ones is a case of history being written by the victor. I like that we’re meeting a few of the Maghuin Dhonn and they all seem very different.

What do you make of Imriel and Dorelei’s relationship and how it’s developing. Do you see a future for them – one with perhaps a child in it? And if so, would this change Imriels plans about only spending a year in Alba and then returning to Sidonie?

I don’t think I can answer. One thing I do think is interesting is Dorelei’s versus Sidonie’s perception of Imriel’s best friend Eamonn. Sidonie thinks he’s loud (and I read between the lines to also think obnoxious) whereas Dorelei seems to think he’s a fun guy. Maybe Imriel and Dorelei are more compatible than they think.

This curse – what do you make of it. The protections that are now placed on Imriel – how do you see this affecting his relationship with Dorelei?

Again, I’m not sure if I can answer.

The Tiberians and the Maghuin Dhon – we learn a little more about them and their history. What did you make of it and the Tiberians?

The Tiberians were stronger and gained control. I think I’ll be skeptical of what they say about those they conquered.

Finally, the Lady Grainne has given her terms to Lord Ferghus – what do you predict the outcome to be?

This was sad. I think Grainne is in a hard place. I think she wants to be just and open to the Maghuin Dhonn because she that’s what she thinks is right and because she wants to try to, I don’t know, maybe set an example for other Albans. I think it was hard for her to say they are no longer welcome and also hard for her to realize that she was essentially powerless.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Kushiel's Justice readalong and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Kushiel’s Justice readalong: week 3

  1. @lynnsbooks says:

    I know – how come Ysandre hasn’t been to Alba – it seems a little unfair, even a little haughty somehow!
    Hyacinthe – I can’t help thinking he’s going to play a part in this and I was wondering if that was why Joscelin and Phedre have kind of been roped into the tale? I’m probably going off on a tangent though!
    The Maghuin Dhon kind of put me in mind of Merlin and Morgen somehow – or even of the fae a little, their strange abilities and curses, etc. I think the similarity in names led me down that route so it’s probably just a wild goose chase.
    I can’t help thinking that this curse and the protection has sort of nulled Imrilel’s feelings for Sidonie a little? It makes me think that he will develop feelings for Dorelei and more to the point she will really start to love him but what will happen when the protection is no longer needed or is broken – will his feelings for Sidonie come flooding back?
    Lynn 😀

    • emmawolf says:

      “The Maghuin Dhon kind of put me in mind of Merlin and Morgen somehow – or even of the fae a little, their strange abilities and curses, etc. I think the similarity in names led me down that route so it’s probably just a wild goose chase.”

      I think maybe subconsciously, it did for me too. I know very little about Merlin et al., but for some reason, while I was writing the answer, a scene from the BBC Merlin show (um…with Giles from Buffy as King Uther) kept playing through my head…when Merlin learns Mordred’s name. Maybe more on this connection (or the little I know about it) later.

  2. tethyanbooks says:

    That is a good point about easing the transition. When I moved to France, my parents also came with me to help me get settled in and explore the area. It didn’t really sink in that Ysandre had never been to Alba, until you mentioned it. That’s kind of horrible, given that her husband comes to the City of Elua every year.

    I think you’re right about Imriel and Dorelei being more compatible than Imriel thinks. Sidonie’s opinion of Eamon sounds more like something I would say–she seems much more introverted than Imriel or Eamonn.

    • emmawolf says:

      “That’s kind of horrible, given that her husband comes to the City of Elua every year.”

      Yeah!!! And that Albans helped her win her throne! And she traveled to La Serenissima for tribute or whatever.

  3. nrlymrtl says:

    Not to be on the Queen’s defense team, but Ysandre has had a rocky rule from the beginning (Melisande and Skaldia to her marriage to an outsider and her half breed children). So, maybe she hasn’t felt secure in leaving Terre D’Ange for a visit to Alba yet. Maybe once Sidnonie marries, she will be able to do so.

    Ha! Well, Eamonn also had a crush on Dorolei as a kid, and perhaps she knows that and therefore is also fond of him. Whereas Sidonie has just seen his loud side in the Hall of Games. Sidonie hasn’t seen him contemplative or sad or deeply angry.

    All good points about Grainne and her relationship with the Maghuin Dhon right now.

    • emmawolf says:

      “but Ysandre has had a rocky rule from the beginning (Melisande and Skaldia to her marriage to an outsider and her half breed children). So, maybe she hasn’t felt secure in leaving Terre D’Ange for a visit to Alba yet.”

      That’s true. I can see how almost being murdered by your loyal body guard in your uncle’s court might put one off travel for a while. (But it is still her husband’s family and land and she wants to ship her daughter off there….but she is really hesitant about letting her go.)

What do you think?

