Kushiel’s Scion readalong: week 8

Last week for the Kushiel’s Scion readalong. Questions by me. Once again, thanks everyone for participating. It’s been fun!

1. Canis—did anyone come close to guessing his true identity or allegiance (to the extent to which we know of it)?

Maybe I’m not as smart as you guys, or maybe I just didn’t think about it because I didn’t read it for the first time in a group read, but I don’t remember trying to guess at him. I just remember accepting it and knowing that it would be explained. I remember wishing that “your mother sends her love” referred to Phedre because I so wanted Imriel to refer to her as his mother, not just his foster mother, but I knew it was Melisande. So I guess the unanswered question concerning him is mostly just where is he from? Imriel could never place his accent and said his language sounded like Helene but wasn’t. Any guesses?

2. There are lots of returns and leave takings in this portion. What do you think? Does anything stand out or strike you?

I was stricken by Imriel’s visit to Anna. He wanted to tell her that Gilot died a hero, but she didn’t care. Heroics were so important to Imriel and Gilot, but it just didn’t matter to her.

3. Lots of upcoming weddings (Lucius and Helena, Imriel and Dorelei, Alais and Talorcan) and the (potential) reunion of Brigitta and Eamonn. Any thoughts on these?

The map with “come” written on it!!!! ❤ I just know that is going to be a great, romantic story. To the fanfic!

4. How has Imriel changed and grown through the book?

A lot. I enjoyed Imriel saying he would try to forgive his friends for their previous doubts when Barquiel tried to implicate him for treason. I think that’s part of being Kushiel’s scion. Judgment also implies some sort of forgiveness or that there is a way to atone or to end punishment. Otherwise it seems to me it’s just spite and a grudge.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Kushiel’s Scion readalong: week 8

  1. @lynnsbooks says:

    Ohh, I love your comment about a great romance ! I’m hoping that we get to travel to Alba and Skaldia in the next book and I’m really keen to see if Melisande makes a return. She’s definitely keeping her eye on Imriel, part of me wants to believe she just really cares for him – the other part just wants to make sure he’s safe so she can implement her plans!
    Lynn 😀

  2. tethyanbooks says:

    I wouldn’t have had a guess about Canis on my own. Maybe he’s from an island somewhere in the Mediterranean near Hellas? That could explain how he could sound kinda Helene but not really Helene.

    I hope Imriel sends a letter to Anna. I completely understand her not wanting to hear about him being a hero right now, but I think she’ll want to know the story of his last days at some point. I hope she finds some happiness.

  3. nrlymrtl says:

    I recall pouring over the map the first time I read this trying to guess where Canis was from. There were only those few clues so I didn’t guess correctly.

    I think Anna couldn’t hear Gilot’s story yet. In the Caerdicca Unitas society, the men go off to war, etc. and the women have their own lives much of the time. In some ways, it doesn’t matter if he died a hero or from some illness or from an assassin’s dagger while he slept. He’s never coming back and she can’t have a life with him. I do think that in time she would want to hear the tale, so perhaps Imri could have left a letter for her.

    There’s fanfic!?! OMG!

    I like your ideas about judgement & atonement versus holding a grudge and spite.

What do you think?

