It shouldn’t be a scandal

Ages ago I made a(n incomplete) list of movies and television shows that use a baby as a plot device versus movies and shows that show a character having an abortion. What was immediately obvious was that there were a lot more shows using a baby as a plot device than there were about about a women getting an abortion. I have a few theories as to why: the actress was pregnant (I know that was the case for at least one of the pregnancies in Once Upon a Time), abortions are boring, or the entertainment industry doesn’t want to send a message that abortion is ok. I lamented on how I wanted to see abortion portrayed as just a medical procedure and then we go on with our lives but figured that would be boring.

But now, we have Scandal. It’s a big deal that they showed the abortion as being no big deal. Thank you for making my television dreams come true.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

