Explanation of certain terms

Politically correct–describing an action to include or not offend a historically oppressed minority that makes me feel bad about myself and is therefore wrong and must be stopped because I’m not a historically oppressed minority and I pretend I don’t understand.

Judicial activism–a decision of a court that I disagree with. Also describes my misunderstanding of government and the system of checks and balances.

Gottcha question–a question that I don’t want to answer honestly because I don’t want to admit my own faults.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Explanation of certain terms

  1. Ryan says:

    A good politician doesn’t simply point out so-called gotcha questions; he responds to them effectively. The candidates at the third GOP debate appear to think that the first part is all that matters. Apparently, so do their constituents.

    • emmawolf says:

      I realized the other day that I truly didn’t understand these terms or at least why they were bad things. It’s like the left is losing the PR/rhetoric war. I remember during the 2012 elections, I read someone’s blog (she was a Mitt Romney supporter) about how she’s so tired of paying $6 for a gallon of milk and how the price will go up if Obama is reelected. So I asked her where she buys milk, and she accused me of trying to trick her with a “gotcha question.”

      • Ryan says:

        Now you know better. Gotcha questions are only acceptable when asked of liberals. Of course, they aren’t gotcha questions then. They’re just good journalism.

        I absolutely believe that we are losing the rhetoric war. (One of the worst symbols of our failure, I think, is the conservative appropriation of the term “family values.”) I’m not really in favor of inventing new terms that ignore nuance in or totally disregard conservative positions in the way that the above terms do liberal ones, but it would be nice to hear liberal politicians thoroughly address conservative misconceptions more often. Or at all. For example: following all of the debate-related drama about gotcha questions, Obama (or Clinton or Sanders) could have given examples of similar or worse questions that he faced, how he dealt with them, why he didn’t just disregard them and attack the questioner, etc. Simply saying something like “The Republicans behaved foolishly” isn’t enough. Perhaps our politicians underestimate the power of rhetoric or the strategic value of challenging the rhetoric of the opposition. It seems to me that someone who understands would stand out from the pack and maybe even get a little respect from conservatives.

What do you think?

