Kushiel`s Avatar readalong: week 1

I’m super behind for my readlong post this week, and I’m posting from a mobile device that I’m just learning how to use and haven’t figured out cut and paste yet, so be patient with me. Questions are from Lisa.

1. What do I think of the opening?

Lots and nothing going on at the same time. Reminding the reader of what is going on with Hyacinthe and his fate, telling us the old Master finally died, but nothing exactly new. Just resetting the scene for us and foreshadowing. Not that it isn’t eerie and wonderful.

2. Who took Imriel and what is Melisande up to?

I read these before, so I don’t want to give anything away. I can’t remember what my thoughts were when I first read it. I think I assumed Melisande’s plotting and Imriel’s disappearance were related.

3. My thoughts on Phedre and Joscelin!

I love the place they came to! I love how they grew to accept each other!

Additional thoughts:

We see an older and wiser Phedre here. In the first chapter, she admits she can be snobby. She doesn’t apologize for it, and I don’t think she needs to, but I’m glad she can see it in herself and her people.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Kushiel's Avatar readalong and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Kushiel`s Avatar readalong: week 1

  1. tethyanbooks says:

    I was also super late for the first week! I am really enjoying 30’s Phedre, and I agree she does seem older and wiser. It has been really interesting, watching her mature, and I’m curious to see how she will react to whatever new cultures and lands she encounters this time.

  2. nrlymrtl says:

    When I first read this series, it had been out for a while so the recap sections weren’t really necessary for me, yet I still enjoyed them. Carey has a way of making them important to whatever the characters are doing now. Also, I think it makes it possible for the intrepid reader to pick up any one of the first 3 books and start reading, though I always recommend starting with Book 1 as it is so deserving of a good read.

    Indeed! Phedre and Joscelin have both grown in these 10 years. It was a joy to see that Joscelin has embraced his fun side and let go of some of his anger. Also, I love that Phedre can see the snob in herself and other D’Angelines and also can accept it, and I believe, be able to set it aside when needed.

What do you think?

