British English v. American English–mind in the gutter edition

I’ve stopped giggling every time I see bakeries selling pasties, but now my local butcher is having a sausage fest.

sausage fest

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to British English v. American English–mind in the gutter edition

  1. Pida Bisnessy says:

    SOMETHING STUPID

    I don’t suppose you know if there’s a British equivalent to the blue meaning of the American phrase? (I know most Brits would understand the American one but just wondering if there’s something homegrown that I’ve not come across [tee-hee].)

    • emmawolf says:

      (I’m trying to find a way to change that, but wordpress changed their interface, and I’m a slow learner. Someone was posting really bad arguments, and I wanted to provide fair warning that I have a low tolerance for really dumb comments in bad faith.)

      You mean what the British call a party or get together with mostly males or male-bodied persons? I don’t know. I’ll keep an ear to the ground and try to find out. It might just be a US term. Like how there is no English word for schadenfreude (other than “schadenfreude”) and there doesn’t appear to be an American term for “dogging.”

What do you think?

