DESERVING OF A SECOND LOOK! (Part Three)

For some reason, wordpress isn’t letting me comment. So I’ll just post my thoughts about this post here:

Thank you for this! It pretty much sums up everything I feel about tort reform. Sadly, when I try talking to people about the temperature of the coffee (for example), I hear “coffee is supposed to be hot!” Because coffee is supposed to melt your tongue to your teeth or something. I don’t know, I’m a tea drinker. I also like to remind people that even though the jury gave (what some consider to be) an outrageous award, the judge decreased it, and the parties settled while appeal was pending. It could be held as an example of exactly how the legal system is supposed to work, but people seem to prefer to be misinformed about it and take away our 7th Amendment rights to a trial by jury.

THE SATURDAY AFTERNOON POST

Oct. 23, 2014  By Jack Jodell.

This is the third and final segment of excellent articles written by Larry Beinhart (author of Wag the Dog) which originally appeared in the Huffington Post nearly 4 years ago, vut still fits the bill today. I thank the Thom Hartmann Program on Free Speech TV for having turned me on to this excellent author. Below is “Class Warfare III – Losing Your Right to Fight Back” by Larry Beinhart which first appeared on 3/09/2011.  

“Everyone has heard of the woman who spilled coffee on herself and won $3 million from McDonald’s. Perhaps you recall an editorial similar to this one, which ran in theSan Diego Union Tribune: ‘A winning lottery ticket… absurd… a stunning illustration of what’s wrong with America’s civil justice system.’

I saw theinjuries. One look was all it took. An 82-year-old woman with such severe burns on…

View original post 1,253 more words

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

