You make me right

When I was a kid, the place where I live was named one of the most dangerous places to live in the US. I joked (badly) that we should get together and beat up the pollsters. I know humor’s not funny when you explain it, but since the joke wasn’t funny anyway, let me explain: see, they said we’re violent, so let’s beat them up because they called us something mean.

It reminds me of Senator Kelly’s remarks in the X-Men movie after he was kidnapped by Magneto. Magneto’s actions and violence Kelly proved that mutants were dangerous.

Recently Emma Watson spoke to the UN about feminism and how men need to advocate for women too. And, of course, the dark side of the internet got their tighty whities in a twist about it and proceeded to say/do/threaten all sorts of stupid crap. You know what stupid crap I mean. I don’t need to repeat it here.

So explain this reasoning to me: someone hear’s Watson’s speech and disagrees with her. And is offended because he takes it as a personal affront to his masculinity. Of course, he is entitled to feel that way. I think he’s a little cry baby with no sense of reality, but that’s neither here nor there. So instead of engaging in discourse, he makes violent threats. Impotent threats or no.

Why would he do that? Why would he prove her right? Why would he seek to demean her (which is what feminists are fighting against) rather than even pull a “not all men”?

Unless he never believed it was about equality but his right to oppress women.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to You make me right

  1. Heather says:

    …or maybe he’s just not the brightest crayon in the box.

What do you think?

