Everything’s smaller in England

Upon moving here, I knew some things would be smaller than what I would be used to in America. I expected smaller houses, smaller refrigerators, and narrower roads. I hoped for smaller portion sizes in restaurants. But I’m surprised by the smaller size of some things. Things that are a little too small for my comfort. Such as the appropriate amount of space to leave between you and the person you are speaking to. Or everyone I’ve met have just been close talkers.  And smaller collection cups for urine samples at the doctor’s office.

When I was given this the other day (shut up! I’m pregnant!), I wondered how in the world I was supposed to pee in there without getting it all over the test tube and my hands. British people are apparently a lot more coordinated than I am.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Everything’s smaller in England

  1. Piper George says:

    Welcome to England. I haven’t been around for a while – how did that happen? They introduced those teeny sample pots a little while ago – I had to take my 4 year old in to provide a sample the other day – no way he was make that!
    The roads are smaller, but so are the cars so we all fit just right 🙂

    • emmawolf says:

      It just happened a month ago. My husband got a job here.

      I’m glad I’m not the only one unable to use the sample pots!!

      “The roads are smaller, but so are the cars so we all fit just right”

      Yeah, everything is proportional, so it doesn’t feel so tiny (except the buses are bigger so it’s really kind of frightening to me!). It’s fun size! (Do you have fun sized here?…..um….it’s like a candy bar that you can eat in two bites.)

      • Piper George says:

        Yep – they are even called fun sized too. The buses are bigger? Really? Have you been to Cambridge yet – if you think the buses are big, try cycling around Cambridge while the bus drivers take pot shots at you. It’s an on-going battle of who has the right of way.

What do you think?

