(early) Valentine’s Day self-promotion

I’m trying to settle in to England, and it is more or less working. Whenever I get too overwhelmed by all the stupid crap that I have to deal with in my move, I try to focus on the new things that are not annoying or even downright cute. For example, in America, we have pulp in our orange juice. In England, they have juicy bits.

orangejuice

I think this is adorable! It’s my favo(u)rite Britishism!

I’m also enjoying trying out the junk food. Especially the chocolate! (Shut up! I get to eat whatever I want! I’m pregnant!) I think this one is my favorite:

It’s called Toffee Crisp, and it’s puffed rice and toffee covered in chocolate. It’s yummy.

Anyway, I’m also thinking about my book. I published it just before I moved and basically did no promotion. Within one month, I had 100 downloads. I think that’s pretty awesome! Now it’s been two months, and I have just over 150 and 2 five-star reviews! And now that I’ve settled a little, I’m going to try to combine awesome things about England and book promotion by creating the chocolate review contest. Review my book, and you’ll have a chance to receive British chocolate from me. Of the reviews that I receive based on this chocolate review contest, I’ll pick one randomly and the lucky writer will receive a belated Valentine’s Day gift from me in the form of British junk food. Any questions?

You can get a copy of the book on smashwords for free! And here is the book’s Goodreads page.

Rules

1. The drawing will be held on March 15, so reviews must be up by then.

2. The contest will only be open if I receive five or more chocolate-induced reviews. So tell other people. BONUS: if you tell another person, and he or she tells me in their comment to this post, I’ll add your name a second time. You can get two extra entries for people told (but only if you write a review yourself).

3. I’ll use a computer program to randomly select the winner so I won’t be accused of bias.

4. The review must appear on Smashwords or Goodreads. After you have posted a review, let me know through a comment to this post with a link to the review.

5. Be honest. That means I’d like you to place a disclaimer on your review saying that you are hoping to receive chocolate. It also means if you hated the book, say so. You’ll still get a chance to win chocolate.

6. The review must be 100 non-repetitive words, ie, you can’t say “this book really, really, really, really, reallyx100 sucked.” The disclaimer does not count towards your word count.

7. The contest is open worldwide but void where prohibited…whatever that means (I don’t know, if your country prohibits the importation of chocolate or something).

8. If you are allergic to chocolate or do not like chocolate and still want to play, let me know. I’ll send you something else. Or, if there is a particular British chocolate (or something else) you want, let me know. OR IF YOU ARE ALLERGIC TO ANYTHING ELSE, LIKE NUTS, LET ME KNOW.

9. If you were one of the people who already reviewed my book, you can still play along under rule two. Tell people, and you can be entered up to three times.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to (early) Valentine’s Day self-promotion

  1. Heather says:

    JUICY BITS!

    (Sounds more like what you find in a romance novel. Heh.)

  2. sj says:

    …am I still eligible? I WAS GOING TO READ IT WITH HEATHER ANYWAY.

  3. I’m in! There is nothing better than British chocolate, and if I get to read a good book in the process, double win!

  4. Piper George says:

    Mmm – Toffee Crisp are delicious. Wispa remains my true favourite though. My mate moved to the US and every so often we have to send him food parcels with Pot Noodles in, apparently you don’t get them either.

What do you think?

