30 day music blogging challenge. Day two. My least favorite song.

Like the last time I did this 30 day challenge, I’m wondering exactly what today’s prompt is asking. Are you asking for the song I hate the most? Or the song that is among my favorite that I like least? I’m going to choose the later. My favorite song that I like the least is Pachelbel’s Canon in D, for much of the same reasons why I like yesterday’s song the best. I’m (was) a cellist. This song’s cello part is boringcore.

It’s a really beautiful song, listening to the instruments pass the melody back and forth and building on it. That is, it’s passed to everyone but the cellos, who are, as Rob notes, stuck playing the same 8 whole notes for the whole song. A cellist friend of mine played in with her orchestra. She said that her grandmother wanted to hear her practice and said “oh, play that Pachelbel song. It’s so beautiful.” So she did. And her grandmother couldn’t believe that was it. Yep. That’s our part. Thankfully, my orchestra conductor never made us play this. I don’t know if I would have forgiven him. He did make us play this though:

It was repeating the same notes over and over again, but at least the rhythm varied (slightly).

I promise the rest of these 30 days won’t be all about classical (or Baroque) music.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in 30 day music challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 day music blogging challenge. Day two. My least favorite song.

  1. Cerys says:

    Hi i did this is on my blog too. It is my first ever blog post and i dont have any readers if you see this please can you go and leave a comment or follow my blog x thanks x
    Ceryspg14.blogspot.com

What do you think?

