mea culpa. mea maxima culpa.

Ok, so the other day I read sj’s blog entry about Goodreads deleting reviews that focus more on the author and less on the book and shelves that categorize the books by author behavior or characteristic rather than an attribute of the book. I didn’t pay much attention to this internet drama before hand because I don’t use Goodreads very much, but apparently there were issues with authors bullying reviewers who gave them bad reviews and the other way around. Users then created shelves based on bullying authors, or similar. Like I said, I haven’t been paying much attention.

But sj’s post made me take notice. I have a shelf called Twisted Female Authors where I put fucked up works like Patricia Highsmith, Daphne Du Maurier, and, up until recently, Poppy Z. Brite. I described it on sj’s blog by saying:

It was more than just my feminist lit shelf, because I don’t know if I would consider Rebecca or Jamaica Inn by Daphne Du Maurier or Strangers on a Train by Patricia Highsmith feminist lit even though Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaid’s Tale and Charlotte Perkins Gilman’s The Yellow Wallpaper were on both shelves. On my bookshelf at home, I had a real life shelf just for these books too. All of Poppy Z. Brite’s books were there too until he came out as trans and I moved them. There was something comforting and feminist about this shelf to me. It let me know that women didn’t write just about “women’s issues,” and that we could be just as successful being sick and twisted as a man.

Immediately, I went to my Goodreads account to check to see if this shelf had been effected. I went to the page that lists all my shelves (not very many), and, perhaps in my haste, I didn’t see it. I looked again. I didn’t see it. My heart sunk to the floor and it actually hurt. I posted on sj’s blog that it had been deleted. People on her blog were warm and outraged for me because they are all such good people.

Later, I went back to Goodreads to see what other people had to say about the change of policy, and I saw my shelf.

I don’t know what happened. I am more than willing to admit that I just didn’t see it the first time but it was still there. Or it’s possible that it had returned. But it’s more likely that I’m an idiot.

I want to apologize to everyone who was outraged on my behalf. I did not do this intentionally or to try to get attention or try to tarnish Goodreads’s name. I’m so sorry.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

