Everyone hates Skyler White

(NB: spoilers for all but the most recent episodes from season 5 1/2.)

When I first started watching Breaking Bad, a friend of mine asked me how much I hate Skyler. It was taken for granted that I would. Everyone does. But you know me. I hate on Buffy and GOT and feel the need to champion the Twilight franchise. So of course, I don’t hate Skyler.

I hate Walter. Maybe we’re supposed to. During “And the bag’s in the river,” I was mad at the writers for making us understand why Walter killed Krazy-8. It was self-defense. Why wouldn’t I sympathize with Walt then? (Oh how he has changed.) I think because I always saw Skyler through the lens of hating Walt I didn’t hate her.

If Walter is motivated by greed and glory, Skyler is motivated  by self-preservation. Every act that she takes (even if I think it’s annoying) seems to be motivated by her keeping a level head and trying to preserve her family.

I’ve been thinking about writing this post for a while, then I read this, which said everything I wanted to say. I could go on about how she’s a great character, but I would just be repeating the things in there. So instead, I’m going to make my wish for the series:

I wish Skyler will kill Walt.

When I last left the series, Walt told Skyler that she will soon come around to Walt’s way of thinking (in part perhaps that killing people is ok) and Skyler was smoking and waiting for Walt’s cancer to come back. I just really hope that she’ll eventually, yes, come around to Walt’s way of thinking and realize that the only way to protect her family from the one who protects her family is by being the one who knocks herself.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in television. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Everyone hates Skyler White

  1. Muriel says:

    I think it’s peculiar to have any strong emotions about the characters in Breaking Bad. They’re all rather meh to me.
    But I strongly dislike the whole series, so my opinion probably doesn’t count.

    • emmawolf says:

      Really? Why? It’s like my crack.

      • Muriel says:

        The main thing is the characters. I don’t care about Walter, I don’t care about Skyler, I don’t care about anyone in the show, which means I don’t care what happens to them.
        Also, I dislike Walter’s obvious main character powers. He’s a completely clueless fool, except when he’s up against some criminal threatening his life, then he suddenly becomes the Punisher, Batman and MacGyver rolled into one.
        It breaks my suspense of disbelief.

        • emmawolf says:

          I can see that.

          For the record, I hate Walter. I always thought he was an asshole. That’s why I was so mad when the writers made his first murder be “self-defense.” I was mad because they wanted us to understand, but I really saw him as a bad person. The characters that I care about and that drew me into the show were Jesse, Jane, Gus, Saul, and Mike.

          • Muriel says:

            Yes, some of them could be kind of interesting. Which makes it all the more annoying when Gus suddenly goes full retard just so Walter can take a break from being a whiny miserable bag of self-pity and be the biggest baddest badass around again.
            That’s just lazy writing.
            Walter dying and someone else taking over, that would have been a bold move worthy of all the praise the story gets.

  2. Muriel says:

    Oh, and for the record: Skyler is right, Walter’s an ass.

What do you think?

