Morning dose of rageface

This morning I found this:

from upworthy.com

from upworthy.com

The chart is titled some complaint about young adult female heroines all looking the same. I agree that yes, we should all complain that most young adult heroines are white. And this chart doesn’t even include the problematic whiteness of Daenerys, who was 13 when she was first introduced. Ok, fine, so Game of Thrones wasn’t written for young adults. I mention Daenerys only to say that the problem is worse than the chart creator admits.

But why the focus on their sexual choices to emphasize their sameness? Why did he have to sexualize young adult female role models? If pointing out sameness, their preferences would seem more relevant to me, not whether or not they have been deflowered. But even with that, why do you need to sexualize teenagers or preteens? (The chart creator listed Hermione’s age as 11.)

My biggest complaint: did you even fucking see a Harry Potter movie??? There was no love triangle with Hermione, Ron, and Harry. It was Hermione, Ron, and Viktor or Hermione, Ron, and Lavender. Harry being a cockblock does not a love triangle make.

And they certainly did not occur in the few pages/scenes when Hermione was 11 (she started Hogwarts only shortly before she turned 12 if she was 11 at all). And since when does Hermione have poor self esteem? Since when is she quiet and shy?

I’m only familiar with half of the books/movies from this chart. So I can’t say what else the chart creator is wrong about. But if he was that wrong about Hermione, I can assume he didn’t care so much about accuracy (Bella a fighter?).

Ultimately, because of my Harry Potter rage, I think I missed the point of this chart. Yes, I’m annoyed that all young adult heroines are white (and straight, thin, and beautiful, not mentioned by this chart) and attempts to add diversity (siblings or not? parents married? from a small town? hair color?) may be next to meaningless. But why do you care who these kids have PIV sex with? And try to at least be familiar with the media you are complaining about.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Morning dose of rageface

  1. Heather says:

    That gif has me in stitches. Hahaha!

    (I can’t really comment on the chart because like you, I haven’t read the majority of the books.)

What do you think?

