Pregnant? No health insurance for you!

My husband may soon lose his job. Or he might not. We don’t know. He was awarded a grant in December that he was supposed to get money from in January. It’s now June and apparently they are still in the vetting process. Because apparently that’s how it’s done. You are awarded the money before they decide whether or not they like you. It’s like from Through the Looking-Glass. You serve the cake, then you cut it.

So I’m looking for new health insurance. Apparently a lot of attorneys are self-employed, so the bar associations of some states will have some sort of insurance pool to make individual insurance not be so GODDAMNED MOTHER FUCKING EXPENSIVE. So I called the Texas Bar to talk with them about it because I have a special place in my heart for the Texas Bar (and because the Maryland Bar was in Ocean City at a conference. Like the whole bar but me). But since I don’t live in Texas anymore, I’m not eligible. Fair enough.

A little later, I got a call back from the insurance sales lady for the Maryland bar. I told her my situation, and guess what I learned. I seriously don’t fucking believe it. YOU CAN’T GET HEALTH INSURANCE IF YOU’RE PREGNANT! At least, not an individual plan.

I still can’t wrap my mind around this. If you are pregnant, you can’t get health insurance. I can’t believe I live in a world where pregnant women are thrown under the bus and this is ok.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Pregnant? No health insurance for you!

  1. Heather says:

    What the hell? Why am I not surprised, though? Sigh.

    • emmawolf says:

      I can’t make any sense of it on so many levels. I think everyone needs to know this.

      This will all change in 2014 because the Affordable Care Act prevents insurance companies from being complete and total ass holes. Of course, the Republicans keep wanting to repeal it.

      • Heather says:

        Right. For some reason I thought that part of the ACA had already kicked in.

        Stoopid Repudheads.

        • emmawolf says:

          I urge everyone to contact Republicans in their state, even if they are not in their district, and ask what the plan is for pregnant women (and everyone with a pre-existing condition) should obamacare be repealed. I contacted mine (I think the only Republican in MD). Who is actually an MD…an MD from MD….heee heee! Anyway, so I’m waiting for an answer.

          • Heather says:

            My sister has a pre-existing condition that would mean not getting insurance if she lost what she has now. It sucks.

            However, pregnancy as a “pre-existing condition” makes me very angry.

            My representatives know how I feel about this. 🙂

            • emmawolf says:

              I am trying not to put myself in a class separate from all the other pre-existing condition people, but yeah, viewing pregnancy as one, considering that a fair percentage of women (who make up half the population) will go through this at some point or some points and that it’s not considered a disease really makes no sense. I think I’m trying to say, I’m glad it’s not just me that thinks its ridiculous.

              I’m sorry about your sister. I don’t know what her condition is, but to me the idea of access to health care hanging by a thin thread sounds very scary.

What do you think?

