I am not a book blogger, but I’ll play one once a month

So as I’ve said probably a million times before, I’m going to self-publish a book. The book is all written (I think) and in the process of getting its shit together (I hope). And as I also know I’ve said before, I have no idea what comes next.

Enter the Insatiable Booksluts’ post about self-publishing. Well, one of many of their posts about self-publishing. No, I don’t plan on making a fake company so I can pretend to be not self-published. Some of the comments to the post insist that self-publishing is a noble profession itself. A point belied by the overarching theme of the post and the comments, but whatev (seriously, I feel kind of like the respectable self-published author is like the token black friend. Oh, I like you. It’s those other expletives I can’t stand). But the take away for me was, damn, it sucks to be self-published. I don’t know what my goals are out of it (see, I have no idea what comes next), but it would be nice to not be lumped in a group of people who aren’t taken seriously. The comments to the post were overwhelming, helpful, and discouraging. Apparently, not a lot of book bloggers will read self-published books. Not because they’re snobs, but because we suck. Or, there’s too much suck so it’s not worth the trouble of going through all the suck to find something that doesn’t suck.

So, I say, bring on the suck. I’m going to review a self-published book once a month on this space. No, I don’t have a lot of followers. I don’t know if this will help anyone. But it’s better to light a candle than to curse the darkness.

How is this thing going to work?

I’m going to start by going to smashwords and trying to find something that looks interesting (and cheap). Or, if an author wants me to review their book, please ask. I’ll probably read just about anything, but I have a preference for time travel, vampires, and pirates. If you write about time traveling vampire pirates, please let me know! But I’m making no promises as to whether or not I’ll like it. I’m going to be brutally honest, but I’m going to try to find something good in something I don’t like.

So stay tuned. Next month, I’ll bring you a review of _________ (could be your book).

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I am not a book blogger, but I’ll play one once a month

  1. Muriel says:

    I should try that. Might be fun. And it’s the right thing to do.
    It’s just …
    Well …
    The self-published dreck really sucks.

  2. Janyaa says:

    I’m a huge fan of indie authors and would be happy to direct you to self-published books that don’t suck.

    Hugh Howey, Elle Casey, Susan Kaye Quinn, Elizabeth Hunter, Amy A. Bartol just to name a few off the top of my head.

    • emmawolf says:

      Thanks. I’m not sure how to best execute this plan of mine. Should I take recommendations? Or should I just go at eyes closed? Maybe both.

      • Janyaa says:

        Well, how do you choose books now? It doesn’t matter if it’s an indie author or traditionally published author. I tend to read the synopsis, look at ratings, read reviews and take suggestions. If there’s a sneak peek preview, I’ll check whether or not I like the writing style. Same method, either way! 🙂

  3. Heather says:

    My only problem with self-published books is that the majority of them really need an editor (or the majority of the ones I’ve read). I’m all for self-publishing if the book is edited well. It’s not the authors or the stories that suck…it’s the typos and other yucky things that an editor would have fixed that suck.

    I’d read your self-published book. 🙂

    • emmawolf says:

      Thanks! That means a lot to me!

      I’m actually really excited about this reading self-pub project! I’ve already started two things. One I stopped (in part because it may have violated the rule the Insatiable Booksluts tried to warn us about on fake presses. But even if I gave them the benefit of the doubt, then it’s a real press and it wouldn’t further my goal. And the story sucked). And the other I’m really enjoying!

What do you think?

