Prompts for the Promptless – Ep. 8 – The Roe v. Wade Litmus

Prompts for the Promptless – Ep. 8 – The Litmus.

Rara’s prompt asks us to describe our own litmus test or consider its flaws/benefits. It’s unoriginal, but here’s mine:litmus2

I judge you based on how you feel about Roe v. Wade.

I don’t judge you based on how you feel about abortion. You disagree with it, you would never have one, it’s against your personal morality, I don’t care. I just ask that you show me and all women the same respect.

I’ve heard people complain that this is a poor test for a political candidate. I disagree. Opinions on Roe v. Wade let me know what you think the role of government should be. Either you think government should be the morality police and large and intrusive enough to regulate people’s personal lives, or you don’t.It also lets me know what you think about science. Either you understand biology or your understanding of the world hasn’t changed since the Bronze Age.

Even if someone thinks abortion is wrong personally, they can still be pro-choice if they have enough foresight to not want large and intrusive government and the understanding of how our bodies work. I suppose its just a happy coincidence that people who agree with Roe v. Wade have other political opinions that I tend to agree with.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Prompts for the Promptless – Ep. 8 – The Roe v. Wade Litmus

  1. Muriel says:

    While I agree with Roe v Wade, I find it…
    Oh, what for, you know my other political opinions.

  2. likeitiz says:

    Agree. I posted “This is my body, not yours,” in my blog. We have similar beliefs. Glad I found you through Rarasaur.

  3. Pingback: Prompts for the Promptless – Ep. 8 – The Litmus | rarasaur

  4. Pingback: Pepsi is not okay. | rarasaur

  5. Heather says:

    That’s why you’ll never hear me call the other side “pro-life.” They’re really just anti-choice.

What do you think?

