Shameful Sunday: Maryland

I just found this Urban Dictionary definition for Maryland, and dear God!

marylandI want to believe people in Maryland are more educated that than. Substance aside, here are some issues:

1) DC is not part of Maryland.

2) Please use commas appropriately so I know if you are saying that parts of Maryland love Baltimore or parts of Maryland such as Baltimore.

3) Don’t confuse heroin with heroine.

4) Don’t use an apostrophe to make a word plural.

I think that’s enough to get started with.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Shameful Sunday: Maryland

  1. I like that it’s the heroine capital. When I visit in May, I expect to see a lot of women in superhero costumes, and if I get in a jam, I know I’ll be well taken care of by all those heroines. I feel very safe now.

    • emmawolf says:

      Maybe we are the heroine capital. Nancy Pelosi’s pretty cool (born in Baltimore) and so is Barbara Mikulski. Oprah used to be an anchor for a local news station. Henrietta Lacks made a huge contribution to science (though not exactly willingly). And Bessie Moses (I just looked her up, I didn’t know who she was before).

  2. Heather says:

    I was going to say, if Maryland is the heroine capital of the world, I’m calling up Maryland the next time I need to be saved from a bad guy. Way to go Maryland!

What do you think?

