Daily Prompt: I’ve gotten real concerned over what’s going to happen with all the garbage.

Daily Prompt: Silver Screen.

I hate trash. Sometimes I get so overwhelmed by it (and topless James Spader) that it makes me feel like Andie MacDowell from Sex, Lies, and Videotape.

Today I got a catalog in the mail today from a company selling books to parents who want to homeschool their kids using a Christian-based curriculum.

P1010106

I’m neither Christian, nor do I homeschool my kid. So, feeling very overwhelmed, I decide to get creative. I made a trashy bracelet and will teach you to do the same.

P1010123

A not-so-great picture of the final product.

Ok, so step one: Find a piece of light cardboard (like from a cereal box) and cut a strip (1-2 inches thick, depending on how wide you want the bangle) that will fit comfortably over your wrist. Glue the ends together and hold in place with a binder clip.

P1010108

Step two: cut strips from the magazine or catalog about 1 inch wide.

P1010111

P1010113

I liked these images of workbooks teaching kids to tell time.

Step three: fold the long strips in half length wise and cut into smaller pieces about twice the length of the thickness of the cardboard. Apply glue.

P1010115

Step four: place on cardboard. Wrap the ends along the inside.

P1010116

Repeat, placing the next piece a little lower than the last, overlapping. Again and again until the cardboard is covered.

Step five: for the last piece, fold the magazine piece over and into itself so that there are no raw edges. Glue it overlapping the next to last piece and the first piece.

Step six: take one long strip and fold over and onto itself so that there are no raw edges. Glue along the inside of the bracelet so that all the messy edges from the small strips are hidden.

P1010119

The long yellow piece on the inside hides the messy edges.

Step seven: Apply several coats of polyurethane. Wait for it to dry, than flaunt it.

P1010104

It’s hard for me to take a picture with one hand.

Two others I made.

Two others I made.

So there you have it, a fundamentalist Christian trashy bangle. The others were from a clothing store and a furniture store. Make one and be fashionable and address my and Andie MacDowell’s concern about garbage.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Wordpress prompts and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Daily Prompt: I’ve gotten real concerned over what’s going to happen with all the garbage.

  1. Pingback: IF YOU’RE A BIRD….I’M A BIRD | hastywords

  2. niprita says:

    How creative the bracelet is! I like it. May I try it by myself?

    Lately I think about create bracelet from trash. But I have no idea what I going to use except the new things like beads or ribbon.

  3. Pingback: Poem / Poetry – A Poetic Duet With Tammye Honey – “Screen Chemistry” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

  4. Pingback: Gelang Manis dari Botol Teh | Portofolio Prita

  5. Pingback: “It’s never a mistake to care for someone. That’s *always* a good thing!” ~ From ‘Radio (03)’ | The Hempstead Man

What do you think?

