Daily Prompt: Musical

Daily Prompt: Musical.

Today’s daily prompt asks us what role music plays in our lives.

A while ago, my friend sj wrote a blog entry creating a musical rainbow out of song titles with colors in them. She asked us what songs we would have included in our rainbows. My smart ass answer was Colorblind by Counting Crows. I’m not big into music. I like what I like, but I rarely explore new music.

I listen to music when I work (usually classical), and I like to sing to/with my toddler, but generally, music plays a small role. My life has a minimalistic score. It’s not a musical. The last concert I went to was probably about 8 years ago when I saw Flogging Molly. Not counting when I took my kid to see Rocknocerous.

My husband’s taste in music sucks. As I said, I’m not so big into music, but even I know that his taste sucks. He likes Aqua and Britney Spears. He explained to me that this is because he’s not from the US, so the only American music he hears is what’s really popular at the time. But his sisters said that was bullshit. Just because they hear something, doesn’t mean they have to like it.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Wordpress prompts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Daily Prompt: Musical

  1. Pingback: Tormented By The Daily Prompt | The Chatter Blog

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Musical Role in My Life | My Blog

  3. Pingback: Waiting for the Gift of Sound & Vision | The Mercenary Researcher

  4. Pingback: The Only Drug With No Harmful Side Effects – A Daily Prompt Post | Edward Hotspur

  5. sj says:

    What’s wrong with Aqua? O.o

  6. Laura says:

    Hey Emma,
    I know you probably already know that 31 states allow rapists to sue for custody and visitation rights. Would you be interested in writing a We the People petition with me to strip a rapist of his right to sue for custody rights or visitation rights for any child concieved by their rape?

  7. Pingback: Pickin’ on Me « Cheri Speak

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Musical | Fasting, Food and other musings by determined34

  9. djmatticus says:

    Flogging Molly! They are amazing live – saw them about 10 years ago in San Diego. However, can’t really follow the rest of your post – how is music not integrated into everything you do? It’s everywhere – in stores and elevators, commercials and shows, movies and theatre… It is one of the constants in our day to day life. Just because you arent’ actively seeking out new music doesn’t mean that it doesn’t play a big role in your life, does it?

    • emmawolf says:

      It is everywhere, and I enjoy it everywhere. But I think I mean that music plays a less active role in my life than it does in that of others, if that makes sense. A more passive role, maybe? This was sort of the reason why this day’s daily post appealed to me, because I wouldn’t say music is life, but that doesn’t mean it isn’t everywhere.

      In elementary school, in front of my music classroom, there was a sign that said something like “if you think music is boring, try living without it.” When I originally wrote this post, I wanted to try to find a picture of that poster, because I think that best explains how I feel. (I don’t think music is boring.) I’m not as in to music as most people (probably) but I also know I couldn’t live with out it. Does that make sense?

      I love Flogging Molly!

  10. Pingback: A Poetic Duet With JaneyBGood – “Murdering It On Karaoke Night” | toofulltowrite (I've started so I'll finish)

What do you think?

