Experience=beginner

For the past 4 years, I’ve been underemployed. I’m trying to make the best of it (blogging, writing a novel, raising a family, pursuing hobbies), but it’s frustrating. Right now things seem to be going pretty well, but I’m concerned about my future. I don’t want to start my own solo practice, but it looks like that’s what I’m going to be doing.

Occasionally I look at help wanted postings to see if there is anything that sparks my interest. Today, I found this:

entrylevel

Since when does “entry-level” mean 1-3 years experience? I should be happy that I am now experienced enough to apply for an “entry-level” position.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Experience=beginner

  1. Muriel says:

    I’m curious about that novel. Is there more information on this blog somewhere, or are you willing to provide it here?

    • emmawolf says:

      I’m still trying to get it published. I started this blog as a way to sort of burn up my nervous energy that accrued after I finished writing and trying to figure out my next step. A few months ago, I submitted it to Harper Voyager. They had an open call sort of thing. I just heard back, rejected. I might try a few more publishers, and then if that doesn’t work, just self-publishing an ebook. Because I’m impatient.

      • Muriel says:

        Basically same here. I have quite some novels that have accumulated over the years, and I’ve been trying to get one published sinse 2011. It’s tough work, though, especially since I have some other stuff to do besides.
        My blog has helped my writing a lot, because I have been publishing serialised novels there for a while, which has provided me with motivation and feedback and deadlines and stuff, but otherwise, nothing so far.
        Should you ever discover the secret, please let me know.

        • emmawolf says:

          Good luck to you. I heard that the only secret/best tip is persistence, but I’m probably not in the right circles to hear the real secrets.

          Are your works in English or German?

          • Muriel says:

            Best of luck to you, too.
            Most of my work is naturally in German, but since I anticipated not only this post, but also that the comments would inevitably lead to this question, I recently started a serialised novel in English, just in case you want to have a peek. Also, I suspected that the English market might be not just larger but also more accessible, but mostly, I was hoping for your opinion on my work.

What do you think?

