what if other rights were protested in the same way?

Another day, an other asshole sexist statement by Rush Limbaugh. Yawn. Limbaugh advocates shooting women seeking to exercise their Constitutionally protested rights.Exact quote:

You know how to stop abortion? Require that each one occur with a gun.

Ignoring the hypothesis of gun=phallus=power, I want to talk about the Rush apologists. Those who are saying we need to look at the quote in context or “ooh…he didn’t mean we should *actually* shoot women who want to exercise their Constitutionally protected rights. He was just trying to make an analogy between how the lefty left for some inexplicable reason actually sees a difference between a clump of cells and a breathing individual who can survive on its own” or “killing babies is the only language the left understands” or because he didn’t use the magic words of “I think this should really happen! Grab your gun! It’s open season!” he wasn’t trying to incite violence or something equally moronic. I can’t seem to capture the idiocy of their words, but try reading the comments to the article. Some of them are…wow.
But Limbaugh did get me thinking about one thing: yes, it would be interesting to imagine a world where other Constitutionally protected rights are protested in the same way as the right to an abortion is. I’ve heard it said “if you don’t like abortions, don’t have one.” Good advice. Well, I don’t like guns, so I don’t have one. But what if I decided that  because I don’t like guns, because they are against my own morality, that no one should own guns? What if to buy a gun, you had to walk through a throng of screaming protestors who threw “holy water” on you? What if someone printed out “wanted” posters with the names and addresses of the gun dealers whose wares were used in 60% of crime calling them murders? What if gun dealers were afraid for their lives from an attack at their store or where they went to Church?
A quick website to refute Ann Coulter’s ridiculousness about how “oh, how come the the states with the strictest gun laws have the most violence?” I’ll take, because Ann Coulter is an idiot for $200, Alex.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to what if other rights were protested in the same way?

What do you think?

