Writing Challenge: a fresh start…not always wanted

Writing Challenge: Starting Over.

New city.  New apartment.  New clothes.  New school. Time to make new friends in my new classes.

Anyone would want this opportunity, right?  Starting all over again.  Your past washed away.  In my case, literally.  Maybe.  CNN hasn’t told me where those pictures of flooded streets came from.  As though the news was for shock value only, not to tell anyone anything useful.  Was that my TV set floating down St. Charles?  But I did know that Google’s satellite showed a pile of rubble not far from my old apartment.  From where it used to be, at any rate.

“It’s a chance to start all over again!” people said, trying to cheer me up.  “A fresh start!”

“We have a new student,” the professor announced.  Suddenly, I didn’t feel as though I was in a top tier law school but rather back in kindergarten.  “Emma, why don’t you tell us about this case?  It came out of Louisiana.  Like you.”

Did living in its jurisdiction give me special insight as to the Fifth Circuit’s reasoning in a trademark case?  I didn’t think so.

I stood up, as admonished by professors back home.  “Use your courtroom voice, Ms. Wolf.”

A fresh start.  A chance to prove to dese Yankees dat we got dem good schools way down south.

“There are five classifications of trademarks,” I explained confidently, wanting to be professional rather than a stereotype. “This case is about the weakest classification, a generic mark.”

“And did you buy this product Zatarain’s Fish-Fry in Louisiana?”

Dey don’t sell no Fish-fry at the Piggy Wiggly.  In Loo-we-see-anne, we eat grass.

“I’m a vegetarian,” I said meekly to some chuckles.  I continued to explain the case and trademarks, doing my best to deflect commentary about where I’m from and suggestions of my intimate knowledge of the products involved.  The student next to me barely looked up from her computer, engrossed in a game of sudoku.

“And tell us about yourself.”

“Well, as you said, I’m from Louisiana.  Had to move, obviously.  I just want to continue my education and graduate on time.”

The professor continued to smile.  Clearly she was trying to be nice.  Road to hell, and all that.

I sat back down, relieved that was over.  The woman next to me finally took her eyes off her screen and turned to me.  “None of us really like her either.”

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Wordpress prompts and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing Challenge: a fresh start…not always wanted

  1. t says:

    I really enjoyed this. Several times, in fact =)

What do you think?

