Deep thoughts:The Terminator

Kyle Reese had Sarah Connor’s picture, so he knew what she looked like. The Terminator only had her name and that she lived in LA. His plan was to kill all Sarah Connors who lived in LA because that would be the only way he would be sure he’d get the right one. The Terminator only knew which Sarah Connor was his target after Kyle protected her.

So why couldn’t Kyle have gotten to her first and just convinced her to change her name (Sarah Connors kept getting murdered, it wouldn’t have been a hard sell) and run away? They wouldn’t have had to destroy the Terminator, and thus leave a part behind to be exploited by Cyberdyne Systems. It would have avoided Judgment Day.

Best deleted scene ever.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Deep thoughts:The Terminator

  1. michellemead says:

    That scene is just great! On the changing destiny thing, though, “no fate but what we make” seemed to have been very much thrown out the window by the time Terminator 3 rolled around. Even if Sarah had changed her name I doubt it would have made a difference in the long run – because there were sequels to make! 😉

    • emmawolf says:

      Yeah, it probably wouldn’t have worked. John Connor (or whatever his new name would be) would know his mother’s changed name and then the Terminators in the future may have known also and sent another Terminator back in time to get whatever the new name is. And the two Terminators could have even ganged up on her, making survival more difficult.

  2. Muriel says:

    Yes, well, as with most action stories, Terminator doesn’t bear too much thinking. Still, I got a very enjoyable TV series out of it, so I’m okay.

    • emmawolf says:

      I’ve never seen the series. It’s good, you say?

      I love the brainlessness of action sometimes!

      • Muriel says:

        Ah, well, you know, I’m basically the only one I know who thinks so, and I have to admit that they need a few episodes to find their pace, but after the second season I was really, really, really disappointed that there won’t be a third one. So I’d say it pays off to give it a try, and to not stop after two episodes. And I swear it’s not just because of Summer Glau.

  3. sj says:

    HAHA! YOU OUTSMARTED THE TERMINATOR! ❤

  4. socalmark says:

    And it would have saved the life of that first, unsuspecting lady who unfortunately said “Why, yes…” when asked (add Austrian accent here) “Are you Sarah Connor?”

What do you think?

