I love/hate Christmas music

For some people, it’s the most wonderful time of the year. When late November comes and the radio stations all start playing carols all the time, they must think “Oh! Christmas music! One of my favorite things!” And they’ll belt them out like it’s the first noel and they’ve never heard these songs before. Or they’ll put on their Christmas shoes to come a-wassailing, thinking their singing is just a joy to the world.

Last Christmas, it came upon a midnight clear. We were getting ready for bed, when we heard something like silver bells ringing. My husband turned to me and asked “Do you hear what I hear?” Unfortunately, I did. But we took a stand. We refused to open the door to give the carolers cookies and hot chocolate. They must have wondered “Do they know it’s Christmas?” They must think I’m some sort of Mr. Grinch. I’m not. It’s just that my husband and I, we’re a couple of misfits. I like the idea of carolers, I just wish they’d go away in a manger or go tell it on the mountain or someplace else!

I wouldn’t mind so much if it didn’t last so long–from October through December. If we could just have say two weeks or twelve days of Christmas music it wouldn’t be so bad. But we don’t. When Christmas comes to town, it comes early.

All I want for Christmas is for the music to stop. I just try to remember, there’s always tomorrow. On the 26th I think “Finally! A silent night! Hallelujah!”

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Holidays and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to I love/hate Christmas music

  1. Heather says:

    I’m so not a fan of xmas music. I used to tolerate it rather well, but then I worked retail for 13 years, and now I just can’t stand it.

    • emmawolf says:

      I have strict rules for Christmas music. If it is before Thanksgiving, I hate it. If it is before December, I’ll tolerate it for a few songs. If it was written or performed by a pop artist when I was alive, I hate it. Basically, I only like the super religious stuff, which is weird considering the fact I’m a Jew.

  2. Tracy says:

    A very clever post. I like some Christmas music, especially when it’s cold, snow comes and I can snuggle up in front of the fire. I don’t like the musak versions that are piped in shops, pubs, malls etc…. oh no, no. So I guess I have a love/hate relationship with it too!

    • emmawolf says:

      Thanks. The one time I ever really got excited about Christmas music was when I was living in Houston and it was snowing. I was so excited to see snow in Houston that I blasted the music on my radio on the way home from work and screamed along to Sleigh Ride. So yeah, the atmosphere has to be right.

      • Which year when it snowed in Houston were you living here? That’s either been really recent or a VERY long time ago…

        It was funny a few years back when we got some snow mid-December, and a friend asked me if my young kids were excited about it. And yes, they were, but seeing as how we’d had snow almost every December since they’d been alive, it wasn’t as amazing to them as to those of us who’d been here a long time.

        • emmawolf says:

          This was in 2008. It wasn’t snowing on Christmas (at least, not that I know of). It was a few days before. So snow isn’t so rare in Houston anymore?

          • Ah, yes, I remember that one! And yes, it is still rare, but not nearly as rare as it was in the late 80s and 90s. Other than a significant set of snow and ice storms in early 1989, I don’t think we had more than one episode of sleet for almost 20 years. Now we get at least a little bit most years, sometimes just in the suburbs. Overnight frost is de rigeur every year. Part of it depends on El Nino and La Nina, of course.

  3. Ryan says:

    The first three words that come to mind when I think of Christmas music are: cheesy, religious, and outdated. Some say that I’m a Scrooge, but since these are generally not good features of music during the rest of the year, I figure that I’m just consistent.

    Good job on the post, by the way.

What do you think?

