beep…………………………beep

I know they save lives, but smoke detectors really drive me nuts. Apparently, I forgot to change their batteries when I changed the clocks when Daylight Savings Time ended (another thing I can rant about). So when I woke up this morning, I heard beep…..[long pause] ….. beep …. [long pause] ….. beep. They can’t just beep repeatedly so you can find them easily to fix the problem. It’s like some sort of battery survival mechanism because it doesn’t want to get thrown in the trash. If you have to wait 3-10 minutes between beeps (and possibly be driven insane while trying to find it), it has that much longer to live.

So why don’t I just remember where I put my smoke detectors? I do. I have two smoke detectors: one on the main floor and one on the floor with the bedrooms. And I know they work because they tell me every time I burn toast. And when I pulled them down this morning and tested their batteries (you know, by sticking my tongue to the prongs of the nine volt and getting a little shock) they were good. Someone (maybe even me) remembered to change the batteries a week or so ago.

With the smoke detectors lying on the table gutted (the only way to be sure it wasn’t coming from them) I heard  beep…..[long pause] ….. beep …. [long pause] ….. beep. There was another smoke detector somewhere in the house. One that I didn’t know about. It was like the scary story with the babysitter and “the calls are coming from inside the house!” My mother, in her paranoid fear of fires, had placed a third smoke detector somewhere in my house and hid it. And forgot to change the battery.

I went to each room of the house and paused, waiting to hear the dreaded beep. But because we have only two ears, one on each side of our heads, we can tell if something is coming from the right or left but not from in front of us or behind. So I go into a room. Wait. Beep! Turn 90 degrees. Wait. Beep! This room is clear. One by one, until I find myself in the basement. Which makes perfect sense. Since smoke rises, we should definitely hide a smoke detector in the lowest point of the house. Wait. Beep! There it is, lying on a shelf covered in dust from sanding (we are refinishing our basement) and rags. Beep! it calls feebly, as if saying “call your mother. She worries.”

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to beep…………………………beep

  1. Muriel says:

    I’d love to read you Daylight Savings Time rant.

    • emmawolf says:

      In short, it messes with my internal clock. It takes me weeks to get adjusted to the time change without being tired all day. I think that if people want more sunlight in their afternoons, they should get up earlier. I don’t like waking up when it’s still dark outside and don’t see why people are forced to do that (school children) just so some lazy people can sleep late. Let’s just set the clocks back a half hour and be done with it forever.

      • Muriel says:

        I agree with your result, although I don*t share your internal clock problem.
        I don’t know how you ahndle it, but here in Germany, trains actually stand around for one hour just so their schedule doesn*t get confused by the change, and I think that one example is already stupid beyond words.

  2. jellytoatree says:

    A mothers worry converts to terrifying your daughter, it’s a classic scenario.

  3. Piper George says:

    I read a news story last moth about a couple who had a continuous beeping from an alarm, they searched the house and couldn’t find it so ended up ripping up floors and opening walls, thinking a builder had hidden one as a ‘joke’, did thousands of pounds of damage and then at last found it at the back of a drawer. Oops

    I actually have spent a lot of time comparing my in laws to a smoke alarm with an old battery. You know that annoying beep is coming at any moment, and you find yourself tensing up just waiting for it.

What do you think?

