Shameful Sunday: a Halloween costume

As I said earlier, on Halloween we went to my kid’s school’s Halloween parade and saw all the kids in their costumes and it was adorable. But of course, there was one costume that was not so adorable.

My kid goes to an all-girls’ school. Yes, he’s a boy. The pre-school is co-ed, and then everything else is a private all-girls’ school.  The costume I saw that disturbed me was not on one of the students, but on a teacher. (If I’m not mistaken it was on the head of the school.) He is an older gentleman, and he wore a simple suit with two name tags on it. One said “Joe Biden” and the other was on his shoulder with an arrow pointing up to his mouth. At the nock of the arrow, it said “foot.”

It’s not that I think politics don’t belong in school. I think they do belong in school. I went to (public) high school during the Clinton impeachment, and yeah, we talked about it. How could we not? I love it if the teachers are encouraging their students to be informed and active in politics. And it’s not that I have a problem with political costumes. But I think that this “costume” during this election, I hope he was careful. By this I mean, I hope he was able to wear this “costume” and still believes that his graduates shouldn’t be satisfied making 72% of what a graduate of another school makes and be able to petition their government when they find out about this injustice. I hope he still believes that violent crimes against his students should be punished and that if one of his students is a victim, she should have a civil remedy if the criminal court fails her for whatever reason.

If he would have dressed as Obama and draped himself in a Kenyan flag, I would have just rolled my eyes and thought it was a stupid costume. But making fun of Joe Biden at an all-girls’ school? It could have been worse. He could have made fun of one of our state’s Senator’s (the longest-serving woman in the history of the US Congress). But rather than make me laugh, the “costume” makes me doubt the school and the leadership of the head.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues, Shameful Sunday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

