Victims for Todd Akin

Seriously, what the shit?

Todd Akin has a political ad that is pretty much “I had an abortion. I was raped. And I support Todd Akin.” Oh, ok. Since one rape survivor is voting for Akin (for reasons unexplained in the short ad), that makes it all ok! Because one person may have regretted her abortion (possibly, she explains nothing in this ad), all women will and we should vote for Akin because he won’t let us make that bad choice. It’s ok for the woman in the ad to make a choice but not for anyone else to. Now that she’s no longer inconvenienced by an unwanted pregnancy, it’s ok to shut the whole “rights” thing down.

Once more just because:

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Victims for Todd Akin

  1. Heather says:

    I can’t wait until this election is over and done with. I don’t know how much more of this bullshit I can take right now. Seriously.

  2. Janyaa says:

    I completely agree with Heather.

  3. eteokretan says:

    Weird. She says she’s had an abortion; she says she’s been raped. But she doesn’t say that the rape was the cause of the pregnancy, though she seems to be trying to connect them. I’ve seen her in an ad for Akin in the past, where she talks about the abortion and regretting it–with no talk of the rape whatsoever.

    [Posted this comment at Feministe, but thought I’d post it here as well. Thanks for bringing attention to the new ad.]

    • emmawolf says:

      I wondered at that too. I feel weird for picking at the reasons for why she had the abortion, because it really shouldn’t be relevant. I respect her choice to do what she thinks is in her best interests. Too bad she doesn’t afford others the same respect.

What do you think?

