Let them eat cake

 

I don’t think Mitt Romney is a bad person; I think he’s out of touch. I don’t mean out of touch in the $10,000 bet way. I mean in the he doesn’t know how things work way.

I think it’s fantastic that he’s inspiring people to donate to Red Cross. I think it’s out of touch with how disaster response/sheltering refugees works to think it’s feasible and an efficient use of resources to collect goods in one part of the country to ship to the disaster site in another part of the country. It’s a waste of Red Cross’s resources to do this shipping, and the sorting, cleaning, etc. all the items ahve to go through. If you thought it was a pain to check your kids’ candy after Halloween, imagine trying to sort through truck loads of donations, to check them, evaluate them, and determine where they need to go. And then to call the people in New Jersey, “hi, don’t buy peanut butter or socks. We have some in Ohio.”

“But we need it now. We don’t want to wait for the truck to come in.”

“…”

And Romney, though not president now, is in a leadership position and is encouraging the people of America to give, not what they have and what the Red Cross needs, but what they have left over. Rather than spending $5,000 at Wal-Mart, he should have just written out a check. That might sound cruel, but the Red Cross is in a better position to determine what it needs than individuals scattered throughout their country who want to clean out their pantries.

And of course, the same person that is encouraging America to create a logistical problem for the Red Cross is the one who wants to slash FEMA’s budget or make disaster relief the purview of the private sector.

Sorry Romney. When it comes to the Red Cross, your heart is in the right place, but we need someone with their head there too.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Let them eat cake

  1. Raunak says:

    how can anyone in their sane minds make disaster relief the purview of private sector! Can you refer me to a page that shows what Romney’s actual plan for FEMA is? I would like to believe that he has been misunderstood.

  2. Heather says:

    I also think it’s kind of shitty that the whole thing felt like he was just doing it for PR. Especially when he bought the stuff, then told people at the event (who didn’t bring stuff to donate), “Just pick something from what I bought and then pretend you’re donating it to my cause.” (paraphrase) That’s icky.

    BUT, I agree with what you’ve said here, although I’m not sure Romney’s heart is ever really in the right place. I lean more towards him being a knowing schmuck.

What do you think?

