Bad weather makes me feel connected to the rest of the country. Except when it doesn’t

The derecho this summer was pretty amazing in a way. I had never even heard of this type of storm before, so yay for learning new things. But it was pretty mind boggling for me to think about a small storm in Iowa and how it swept across half the country took out my power. I thought about the people I knew in the derecho’s path and wondered if they had similar stories to mine.

Hurricanes are a more frequent and obvious example of this. Facebook makes it almost like I can share these experiences with my friends as they post pictures or descriptions, arranging themselves on my feed by latitude. When the earthquake hit last year, I had the same feeling too, especially when I thought about my friends in New York City. It must have been frightening for people in skyscrapers to feel their building suddenly shake violently. Especially for those who were in the city during the attack on the WTC eleven years ago.

And now, with this weird storm Sandy, I saw video of people surfing on Lake Michigan due to the strong wind the storm brought. It made me smile to see people enjoying the storm and took my mind off some of the stress for a bit.

And if anyone fucking says “why did they build their city on a swamp/below sea level/on the shore/etc?” ever again, I will tell them to die in a fire.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Bad weather makes me feel connected to the rest of the country. Except when it doesn’t

  1. Heather says:

    We had a derecho in New York in 1997 or 1998, and that thing was FIERCE. This will sound cliché, but it really sounded like a huge train coming at us. I got trapped at a friend’s house because every root I could take home had a tree down across the road. It was crazy.

What do you think?

