A letter to those who would deny women the opportunity to control their own lives

This letter. Wow. Amazing doesn’t begin to cover it. Trigger warning for sexual assault, and maybe just having a vagina generally.  After reading it, I wanted to cry and throw up.

I want to find a quote to show you, but every word is just so powerful. It is John Scalzi’s letter to “Certain Conservative Politicians” from the point of view of a rapist. It explains how rape is about control and how forcing rape victims to carry and deliver the child of the rapist allows the rapist to maintain control over the victim for the rest of her life. It explains how attempts to draw distinctions between rape has given rapists more freedom. It talks about the unlikelihood of a rapist getting caught, brought to trial, or convicted. It talks about laws allowing rapists to seek custody of the child. The ultimate message is familiar. It feels like I have been trying to say it but unable to find the words myself. In Mr. Scalzi’s, “I believe that a man who rapes a woman has more of a right to control a woman’s body and life than that woman does.”

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

