I’m “absolutely not” a feminist. I’m a [feminist].

How many times do we have to say this? Seriously, who is putting it out there that the definition feminist is something ridiculous like someone who doesn’t brush her teeth or shower regularly? What exactly do you think a feminist is?

Katherine Fenton of what are you going to do about unequal pay fame has inexplicably said that she is absolutely not a feminist then said “I’m a 24-year-old woman that lives in the United States and feels like I should be treated the same as anyone else. That makes me a normal human being.” WHAT DO YOU THINK FEMINISM IS AND WHAT MORON TOLD YOU THAT?

Read more.

edit: I don’t know what’s up with the falling man icon before the second word “feminist” in my title. I put the word in brackets to show that I had edited/translated Ms. Fenton’s words “I should be treated the same as anyone else. That makes me a normal human being” to “feminist.”

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to I’m “absolutely not” a feminist. I’m a [feminist].

  1. Janyaa says:

    Thank you! People treat the word “feminism” like it’s the other “F” word. A curse. An epithet.

    Some of the worse purveyors of this attitude are women. I don’t get it.

    You don’t have to be a bra burner to want equality. You don’t have to be a man hater to expect to be treated with dignity and respect.

    Really, why wouldn’t anyone (man or woman) not be a feminist?

    • emmawolf says:

      The fact that she thinks a normal human being is really telling to how sheltered she is. Mitt Romney, for one, is not someone who believes she should be treated the same as everyone else.

  2. Piper George says:

    Interesting. I think one of the main perceived ‘negativities’ with being classed as a feminist is because, as with any other issue, those who shout loudest are often extremists who demand all the attention and give their issue a bad name. Apply a label, and immediately you give people a focus to complain at. Take ‘hoodies’ an another example. Thousands of normal human beings wear jumpers with hoods – but be seen wearing one and it is assumed you are a ‘hoodie’ (association = thug). Thousands of normal humans believe in equality, but shout about it and you are called a ‘feminist’ (association = man hater).
    Just a thought.

    • emmawolf says:

      I think “hoodie” might mean something different in British than it does in American. Here, it just means an article of clothing (unless I’m wrong…Any other American know it to mean something else?) But your point still stands.

      I think what you are saying is an accurate representation, and that’s what bother me. It irks me to no end that people (especially women) are so quick to distance themselves from this label without knowing what it means and especially without realizing that without it, they probably wouldn’t even be able to read the word.

      I see the flip side of it happening with Christianity. There are lot of crazy Christians (or people of other faiths, but they are the most vocal here) who make a lot of others look bad. So often more mainstream Christians will try to disavow them, saying no *true* Christian would behave in that way. Which is a logical fallacy. I’ve never seen feminists try to do this: for example, trying to say that Andrea Dworkin, who has (not really) said that all hetrosexual sex is rape, is not really a feminist. I think it’s much more honest to shake our heads and say either “she was misinterpreted” or “well, not everyone feels like that,” than to try to disavow her, but the dishonest method used by others (the term RINO also comes to mind) seems to be more persuasive to outsiders. Too bad feminism is all inclusive.

  3. sj says:

    Adhering to the ideals of feminism, but not wanting to be called a feminist is ridiculous.

  4. slendermeans says:

    I’m so tired of reading this everywhere. The negativity and embarrassment around the word “feminism” is very problematic.

What do you think?

