War on military women

If you doubted the war on women, or doubted where it was going, consider this. The short of it, a single mother was kicked out of the Air Force and had her scholarship revoked. Why? Because she deigned to give birth. (NB: her military health insurance would not have paid for an abortion.) I do have to roll my eyes at her a little though for this:

Abortion was never an option, she said, because of her Catholic faith and her personal beliefs.

Wasn’t premarital sex a no-no too?

Ok, sorry. I’m completely sympathetic.

This fight is not about abortion or not just about abortion. If government can control an individual’s reproductive system, they can control who graduates high school, who receives scholarships, who goes to college, who enters the military, who enters the work force, who receives aid. And so on.

Also consider this based on so-called rape exception to an abortion ban. Who decides if the woman was raped? A jury? Do you know how long a trial can take? Will there be an appeal process?

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to War on military women

  1. Raunak says:

    I shall reserve my comments for fear of a violent backlash 🙂

  2. Heather says:

    *sigh*

    That’s all I’ve got. I’m so burnt out on the bullshit (excuse my language, please).

What do you think?

