Loving v. Virginia

“We do not vote on rights.” I can’t say it any better. This shit is on the ballot in Maryland. There are at least two hate based signs in my neighborhood. What I don’t get is the sign that just says “marriage matters” (but is obviously hateful). If marriage maters (I think it does) then we need to make sure people aren’t denied their rights. And the argument that marriage matters is partly what made the Prop 8 supporters lose at the courts. The weird thing is, the gay marriage law might just pass in Maryland and I’m afraid that that victory will embolden those who would seek to deny rights via the tyranny of the majority under the theory of “see, it doesn’t always fail at the ballots!”

the fatal feminist

This is 1967.

In November 2008, bigotry was back on the ballot.

We do not vote on rights.

Support love. Invalidate Proposition H8.

View original post

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

