30 day book challenge. Day 23

My favorite romance.

Since my favorite book is Rebecca, I guess my favorite romance is also Rebecca. But I guess that would be cheating if I just referred you back to day 1. Otherwise, see sj’s post about hating romance. Yeah, what she said. Fuck romance and romantic novels.

So my favorite romance other than Rebecca is Exquisite Corpse by Poppy Z. Brite, who now goes by Billy Martin and I never know how to refer to him when I’m talking about his books. I want to be able to point someone to the author if they are interesting in reading the book but I also want to respect Martin. This book is also an amazing segue from his horror to his foodie novels.

Anyway, this book is about two serial killers who find love. Andrew is a necrophiliac, who kills his victims then has sex with them. (Killing might not always come first. It’s been a long time since I’ve read this, and I don’t remember the finer points.) He’s been convicted for his crimes and in solitary confinement in prison. He fakes his own death and manages to escape the autopsy. He goes to New Orleans where he meets Jay, a cannibal (see what I mean about the segue?).  They fall in love! But Andrew can only love another person if he’s dead. And Jay can only love another person if he’s eating him. What are two serial killers to do?

Find a third party/victim, of course! So they can love him properly and share the experience together!

One of the things that I loved about Brite’s earlier/pre-foodie work was that he killed all his characters. He spent 200 pages getting us into the story and then at the end, boom, everyone is dead. One of the reasons why I liked this literary feature is because, as I wrote in an earlier post, I often get sad when I finish a book I was particularly into. If all the characters are dead, I don’t feel the same way as though friends have left me. It’s like I have more closure. Spoiler alert: almost everyone dies in the book. (Except I think the characters that are HIV positive survive.) I realize this kind of makes me sound like a crazy serial killer who kills her friends when they move away. I don’t. Really.

As a side note, ok, so I totally didn’t know what the term “exquisite corpse” referred to until now. I kind of want to get a group of people together and do one for NaNoWriMo. Anyone interested?

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in 30 day book challenge and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 day book challenge. Day 23

  1. sj says:

    This is on my read list for this month. Guess I should get to it soon, huh?

What do you think?

