30 day book challenge. Day 20

A book I would recommend to an ignorant/racist/closed-minded person

Honestly, I’d be hesitant to go there. I think I’d be setting myself up for disappointment. I guess see yesterday about changing minds. I just don’t believe I could make a difference by way of a book. I think life experience is the only way to change people’s minds.

That being said, Black Like Me by John Howard Griffin. For those of you who do not know, this memoir takes place in 1959-60 and is about a white man who, through drugs and an ultraviolet lamp, changes his appearance to appear black. He then travels through the south and documents his experiences.

Sadly, I expect any close-minded person I give the book to will just shrug and say that was then, this is now.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in 30 day book challenge and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 day book challenge. Day 20

  1. Caitlin says:

    A Raisin in the Sun, although they wouldn’t get it so maybe not.

    To Kill a Mockingbird.

    Sister to the Sioux.

    The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian.

    The House on Mango Street (they probably wouldn’t get that one either).

    and… so many others.

    • emmawolf says:

      I’m totally the wrong one to talk to about To Kill a Mockingbird. I think the whole right hand/left hand argument was crap. It implies there was no way the defendant and the victim weren’t facing each other and that there is no such thing as a cross.

What do you think?

