30 day book challenge. Day 19

A book that changed my mind about a particular topic. The prompt specifies that said book must be non-fiction.

I really don’t know. I talked with some people here before about how I seem to only read things that conform to my world view. I don’t think I’m alone in this. It’s probably not good because it means I’m not exposed to new ideas. But with many social issues, my mind is very firmly made up. I don’t think I’ll ever read the argument that will convince me it’s ok to deny people their fundamental rights. And when I do stumble upon media that holds positions opposite mine, I tend to get pretty riled up. The thing is, I want to understand. I don’t want to believe that one political party in this country is made up of extremists who can’t think critically and/or don’t understand the Constitution, but I just don’t see any evidence to the contrary.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in 30 day book challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 30 day book challenge. Day 19

  1. Heather says:

    I’ve read lots of non-fiction from “the other side” [insert spooky music here], but none of it has ever made me change my mind about my own views. I just read it so I know what the other half is thinking/doing.

What do you think?

