30 day book challenge. Day 15

Half-way point! Woo! I have the feeling that I’m boring people.

My favorite book dealing with a foreign culture. See yesterday’s post about my lack of exposure to this.

Season of Migration to the North by Tayeb Salih, a Sudanese author. I’d show you a picture of the cover, but the cover of my edition was actually pretty boring.

This is ridiculous. My favorite book about a foreign culture is about colonization and takes place, in large part, in Europe. It’s the story of Mustafa Sa’eed and an unnamed narrator. Mustafa and the narrator are similar in that they both went to Europe to study. But they are so very different.

Bonus: storytime! In the same Arabic lit class that I read Season of Migration, I also read a short story called Distant View of the Minaret. This story starts with a woman and her husband having sex and she is staring at the ceiling. He finishes, and then they hear the call to prayer. The woman goes out to the balcony and thinking about how depressed she is that new construction is blocking her view of the minaret.

Our professor asked us what this meant. A few people raised their hands saying “oh, she wants to be more religious and her husband isn’t letting her.” I tried hard not to laugh. The professor finally noticed me wearing my “what the fuck?” face and asked me what I thought. I practically screamed at the class “her husband can’t give her an orgasm!” (grounds for divorce in Islam.)

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in 30 day book challenge and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

