30 day book challenge. Day 13

My favorite childhood book.

I had so many, so I’ll choose my first from the youngest age. I loved Red Sun Girl by Jean and Claudio Marzollo. It was a sci-fi/fantasy about a girl named Kiri who lived on a planet with two suns. Like Tatooine but one sun is red and the other is blue, and they alternate. And every time the blue sun rises, all the people turn into an animal. Except for Kiri. As an outcast, Kiri spends the day of the blue sun indoors wishing she could be normal.

It’s a kids’ book (obviously) so the lesson should be that people learn to accept her, right? Yeah, that’s not what happens. Instead, she runs away to try to find a magician to make her normal. She finds him and cheats him out of payment. Which is totes ok since he was the bad guy. Yes, the one who helped her achieve her goal was the bad guy. Why? It wasn’t stated. I guess the authors just wanted more drama or to make sure the kids got the lesson of weird=bad.

Looking back, I think the only reason I liked this book was for the pictures.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in 30 day book challenge and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 day book challenge. Day 13

  1. sj says:

    I think I vaguely recall discussing this book with you. I don’t think I’ve read it, but it sounds interesting.

    • emmawolf says:

      I think I do too. Now, I’m pretty disgusted by the messages in this book. It inspired me to write my kids book about equality and friendship and accepting people for who they are.

What do you think?

