30 day book challenge. Day 7

A book that is hard to read.

This is another one where I’m not quite sure how to answer it. When I was younger, I had a hard time reading The Devil’s Own by Deborah Lisson. This was in part due to the unfamiliar Dutch names and quantity of characters and in part to the ridiculous amount of typos in my copy. Seriously, it was ridiculous. As an example: the main character was introduced as Julie. And then three sentences down the author called her Stephanie. So as a 10 year old, I edited the book to make it readable.

Another reason why it was hard for me was because it used a lot of vocabulary I didn’t know. So I read it with a dictionary next to me. And apparently my vocabulary grew larger than that of my eight grade English teacher. She gave me bad grades on papers because I was using words in ways she never thought possible. (I’m still bitter about this.)

So this book, which I’ve mentioned before, is about a 15 year old girl on vacation in the Ahrolhos Islands off the coast of Australia in her family’s yacht and being an insufferable bitch. In her bitchiness, she takes the dingy in the middle of the night to one of the islands because she thinks she sees someone. She gets taken back to the 17th century just after the Batavia shipwreck (long true story short: a group of sailors wanted to mutiny, but whoops, crashed the ship before their plans were carried out. The survivors set up camps on the island and it all goes Lord of the Flies) on the islands and enters a fight for her life. That might sound incredibly lame, but it’s actually a really cool book and well researched.

Learn more about the Batavia.

Learn about the opera about the Batavia!!!

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in 30 day book challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 day book challenge. Day 7

  1. Raunak says:

    for some unknown reason, as a kid I could never read Hardy Boys!

    • emmawolf says:

      I never read any Hardy Boys either. But as I girl, I guess that was ok. But I couldn’t read any Nancy Drew either. I think I don’t like a lot of straight up mystery and prefer my suspense with wizards and broomsticks.

What do you think?

