A short explanation of why we still need feminism and why we may seem obsessed with sex

I really like looking through my wordpress reader for blogs about feminism. I’ve found a lot of neat blogs that way and engaged in a few interesting conversations with feminist bloggers. I’ve also found a few posts that I think were just trollbait. Some of the “what about the men” folk. I don’t mean to disparage men who have real issues and think they aren’t being addressed. But I am disparaging you if you think feminism is what created the male issues. I’ve also found the people who think that feminism is not needed anymore. As I think I’ve said before, I think those people don’t know what feminism is. Or they lead a very privileged and sheltered life and I should be happy for them even if they can’t see something from another person’s point of view. And I’ve found a third thing.

This might be a personal flaw, but I cannot understand why a woman would vote Republican. I just can’t wrap my mind around it. I’m not talking about voting Republican 20 years ago, 10 years ago, and to a certain extent even 4 years ago. But now, no. So while searching through blog posts labeled “feminism,” I found a few people who are offended that the Democrats seem to reduce woman to biological terms. I agree with them in that I think this is very offensive. But I think that the idea that the Democrats are doing it, or that the Democrats are doing it sua sponte, goes hand in hand with the misguided notion that we don’t need feminism anymore.

Absolutely, women are more than their biological function. We are more than mothers, daughters, and wives, and we should demand that these not be our only roles. We are business owners or factory workers. We are teachers or graduate students. Do I need to go on? But because of biology, in order to become one of these other roles (and because I don’t see men giving up sex any time soon), there are some things that we need. Every child needs to be taught how to prevent a pregnancy while still having sex (because if you think abstinence-only sex ed works, I have a statistics to show you after I sell you a bridge). Birth control needs to be affordable and available. Abortions need to be affordable and available.

And I only see one party trying to take these things away. I only see one party trying to reduce us to our biological roles. An unregulated economy, war in Iran, or whatever the hell it is Republicans want, fine and dandy. Fight for that if you please. But if women can’t access the workplace because we couldn’t finish school because we got pregnant, there won’t be a need for fair pay laws or anti-discrimination laws. And that’s what progressives mean when we say Republicans were reducing women to their sex organs, in case you were asking.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to A short explanation of why we still need feminism and why we may seem obsessed with sex

  1. Raunak says:

    I’m just glad that I live in a country where we are not debating validity of abortion and birth control. Yes, we have lots of grave issues that need strong feminist movements, but at least we don’t have to fight for women’s rights to abortion and birth control!
    here’s an interesting figure…less than half of the registered voters in the age group 18-24 voted in 2008 and even fewer of them were women. Clearly, women who are affected by these issues need to show a better voter turnout.
    P.S: Go Romney 🙂 A good economy and employment will help wisdom prevail and that will address social issues in a logical way.

    • emmawolf says:

      I suspect you are trying to get my goat with your incessant pro-Romney antics. I’m not going to let you have it. The thing is, you and I seem to agree on a lot of issues (which is more than I can say for a lot of other Romney supporters), we just disagree strongly on the best way to get there. I actually think that addressing social issues can have a positive effect on the economy, for one.

      Regardless, you’re right. We need to get out the vote!

      I’m always curious about abortion in other countries. My husband is Israeli, and he tells me that it’s just such a non-issue there. How is it in India?

      • Raunak says:

        its a non-issue here. Abortion is legal and birth control is encouraged and government sponsored. With 1.2 billion people, that’s hardly surprising!

        • emmawolf says:

          I would expect nothing less from the culture that literally wrote the book on neat ways to have sex.

          • Raunak says:

            our ancient religion, Vedic Hinduism was very progressive indeed. It was with the introduction of Abrahamic religions around 10th century AD that Hinduism went through a transformation that made it more restricting.

What do you think?

