30 day book challenge. Day 6

A book that makes me cry.

I’m sappiest sap who ever sapped a sap. I cry at Children’s books. Like all the time. I’ve gotten better since I have to read children’s books to my kid, but at first, bedtime was always time to bring out the tissues for me (sometimes the amount of confidence the little engine has really gets to me, or how mom and dad tiger are so proud of their son when he finally bloomed. And don’t even get me started on that real stuffed rabbit). Even now, sometimes at storytime the water works come on. But in reality, I cry, or have cried, at a lot of books, but it’s probably least embarrassing for me to tell you about a children’s book that makes me cry. So I bring you The Cat Who Wouldn’t Come Inside.

This book is about a woman who goes outside and sees a stray cat in the snow. She calls the cat to come inside, and the cat runs away. The next day, she puts a bowl of food out. The cat eats it, she calls him, and he runs away. This goes on with her giving the cat more things until the cat has a nice home that he invites the woman to.

The illustrations are amazing. They are photographs of a doll house with clay figures. Check out her website. It’s really adorable.

Why this book makes me cry (in addition to it being a children’s story and I’m just a sap) is because of the true story behind it. You can read the true story on the website. Basically, the woman found a stray cat near her house and tried to take care of it. Slowly, he let her near him, but he never wanted to come inside. One day he got sick. That night, he let the woman bring him inside, and he died in her arms.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m going to go snuggle with a kitty.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in 30 day book challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 30 day book challenge. Day 6

  1. niprita says:

    Seems interesting, I want this book. I hope I can find this book in my city. Thanks for your review!

What do you think?

