Oh Todd Akin. You’re so funny!

Generally, I don’t think laws should be based on morality. I feel this way because I acknowledge that morality is an individual standard. You might think it’s moral to declaw your cats. I might not. You might think it’s moral to drink a caffeinated beverage. I might not. On that basis alone, I don’t think it should be illegal.

I think the exception to this is regulating the “morality” of businesses. Despite what Romney would have us believe, a corporation or a business is not a person. I own a sole proprietorship, and although that’s probably the company form closest to a person, I know I’m not two people. I shouldn’t get to vote twice after I’ve been in business 18 years, and I don’t think my husband should be labeled a bigamist. Because it’s not a person, it doesn’t have the same responsibilities or conscience. For most corporations, their goal is to make money. I’m not saying this to be cynical. I’m saying this because this is their obligation to their shareholders. That is why I don’t give a shit when the Civil Rights Act took away a company’s “freedom” to make some of their patrons sit at the back of the bus (actually, I do give a shit. The shit I give says “damn right!”). I don’t think freedoms are for businesses in that sense. I don’t think they have the right to discriminate. I am free to start my own business and to run it to maximize profits on the condition that my company’s “freedom” doesn’t impinge on the freedom of a real person who has goals and responsibilities other than just money.

With that introduction,I give you Todd Akin thinking it’s ok to pay women less because hey, freedom of contract.

I do not place the “freedom” of a non-person over an individual’s constitutional right to equality.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in Feminist issues and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Oh Todd Akin. You’re so funny!

  1. Raunak says:

    While I think a truly free market is the solution to a lot of problems, one way to ensure equality is to expose the companies that are guilty of bias in their organization.
    There is nothing a company would hate more than being labeled as a discriminator. It would ruin its brand and thus affect its sales and profits. In the end, shareholders’ interests lie in enforcing “morals”.
    In order to expose the culprits, information must be accessible. Hence the Right to Information is of supreme importance.
    Having said that, short term regulation is important to get rid of the ills of the society. A generation after the enforcement of regulation, equality will become a way of life for everyone.
    As always, Todd Akin rocks and his thoughts deserve no comments 😆

    • emmawolf says:

      I want to reply to this, but I feel like there are so many different nuances to what you’re saying that it would take a really long time. In short, I think the exposure you talk about is important but that it can’t be the primary way that we enforce rights.

      I’m very sorry that I know so little about India. It’s really a place that I’m intrigued by but unfortunately have not had the opportunity to learn about as much as I would have liked. Can you tell me briefly about the caste system and if you think government regulations can abolish it and lingering discrimination in a generation?

What do you think?

