30 day book challenge. Day 4

Day 4. A book that reminds me of home.

When I first started drafting this post, I thought of a book that reminds me of my childhood and that helped shape my world view and reminded me of why I felt those ways. But then I decided to take the prompt literally.

The young adult author Mary Downing Hahn lives in my hometown and sets a lot of her books in Maryland. I read some of her books growing up, and though I was too young to remember, as a librarian she used to read the kids (including me) stories at storytime. A favorite of mine growing up was the Sara Summer. I even have an autographed copy from when the author came to my middle school.

The Sara Summer is about a girl named Emily. Her best friend is falling into a popular clique, and she feels out of place. She meets Sara, the new girl in town, who turns out to be a bit of a bad girl. Emily’s mom doesn’t approve of Sara, but Sara gives Emily more confidence. Eventually, Emily has to stand up to Sara, but I think I remember them reconciling.

I’m sad I can’t find my copy now. Writing this is making me feel both nostalgic and forgetful. I really want to read it again.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in 30 day book challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 30 day book challenge. Day 4

  1. Raunak says:

    I just got reminded of The Famous Five and Secret Seven. Loved those books.
    Thanks for bringing back some good old memories 🙂
    I can’t wait to read the next post…Todd Akin 🙂

  2. sj says:

    I had a really hard time with this topic, too.

    • emmawolf says:

      Once I decided to make my interpretation more literal, it was easier. And as I was writing it, I was thinking of my new(ish) friend Sara(jean) and her giving me more confidence. And it bothered me because I can’t remember how the book ended. I think they were still friends at the end of the book….

What do you think?

