30 day book challenge. Day 3

A book that completely surprised me.

The biggest surprise I remember getting from a book was from Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone. It’s day three and already I’m doing repeats. I promise the next 27 days will be more interesting! I remember where I was when I learned that Professor Quirrell was possessed by Voldemort. I was home from college with nothing to do. I went for a bike ride and packed my friend’s copy of Harry Potter in my backpack. I had started the book a few days before in her dorm room (she slept late, so I had a few hours to kill before she woke up, during which I raided her bookshelf). I rode to a nice spot in the middle of meadow to lay down a blanket, relax, and finish the book. Up until then, the book was…well, it was ok. Fun and cute, but nothing special. I had enjoyed some of Diana Wynne Jones’s Chrestomanci books much more.

I did not see this coming.

The Harry Potter books (at least, the first four) are whodunit books. I didn’t even know I was reading a mystery until the big reveal. This book was not what I thought it would be! After I finished, I rode to the library to get the next book. See yesterday’s post for my disappointment. But even 12 years after I first read Harry Potter, when I think of that stand off between Harry and Voldemort, I see myself lying in the grass. Like a flashbulb memory.

And since today was a repeat, I’ll also give you Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None. This was the first (real) mystery book I ever read (not counting the Berenstain Bears in the Dark or the Something Queer is Going on series, which I loved as a kid), and I read it with my 7th grade class. I remember being interested through the whole book (which was more than I could say about most books I read for school. I just hated being forced to read something) but completely blown away by the ending and learning how the mastermind had manipulated others into killing. As this was close to 20 years ago, I don’t remember the details now. I’m reading a plot summary and am confusing myself.  Maybe it’s time to revisit it.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in 30 day book challenge and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

What do you think?

