30 day book challenge. Day 2

This is tougher than yesterday’s prompt. Instead of telling you about the book I hate the most (how do I choose? Some books make me angry when I read them. Some I think are a complete waste of paper), I’m going to tell you about the books (because it’s a tie) that are least liked among my favorites.

That’s right. I went there.

Before you flame me for saying these were my least favorite books, remember I just said that among my favorites, these are the ones that I like the least.

I almost put the series down after Chamber of Secrets because I thought it was just Harry Potter and More of the Same. I liked Dobby and the concept of the diary, but I thought Gilderoy Lockheart was so over the top and boring and frankly not believable. Yeah, I’m reading a book about people flying on broomsticks and people getting stoned Medusa-style, and I have a problem with a bad teacher.

Thankfully (for me), I continued with the series. Prisoner of Azkaban helped lift all of the Harry Potter series to my category of “favorites.” A corollary to the theory that the sequel is always worse than the original is that the third one seems to leave them all in the dust and be amazing. (The notable exceptions to my theory are Shrek, Star Wars, and Nicole Hamlett’s Grace Murphy series. In both of these, the second was my favorite and only wanted me to keep reading/watching.) I didn’t like Kushiel’s Chosen as much as Kushiel’s Dart. I didn’t have high expectations for Avatar, but it blew me away. Same with the Hunger Games (I know that’s an unpopular opinion). And I’ve heard the same is true with Game of Thrones, if I can only get through the second one.

About emmawolf

I'm a freelance writer living in Baltimore with my husband, son, and two cats. I'm working on editing my first novel. I love reading, traveling, and the cello.
This entry was posted in 30 day book challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to 30 day book challenge. Day 2

  1. Jeyna Grace says:

    My least fav was Order of the Phoenix.

    GOT is ok for me.. so far, I’ve read the first book and now I’m on the second. Personally, it is a bit slow, but I tell myself to continue reading, because I need to read the 3rd book to know what happens before season 3 of the TV series comes out.

    If your theory is right, then the 3rd book would be amazing, hence, I got to keep reading!

    • emmawolf says:

      Re GoT and the rest: it’s what people keep telling me. I’m kind of tempted to just skip the second book and go on to the third. Or just wait for the second season to come out on DVD, then read the third.

      Re OotP: that book gets me annoyed when I read it. I get so frustrated with capslock Harry and Umbridge (I guess bad teachers drive me crazy. I don’t really like Snape much either). But I really like DA and Harry’s interview with Rita. That makes up for a lot for me.

  2. Raunak says:

    The unanswered question of my life: why have I not been able to get myself to start reading Harry Potter?

    • emmawolf says:

      Maybe because the series has a slow start. Books one and two are not so great compared to the rest. If you want to try (and know the basic story) start with three, go to four, go back for one (maybe) and two (you probably need this for later in the series), then continue.

      Just FYI: tomorrow I’m going to spoil the ending of the first book.

  3. sj says:

    Ha! I totally love that you went here. I don’t agree that these two are the worst (I think CoS is after GoF for me, actually), but I can totally understand feeling this way.

    Also, I was this close to doing a “least favourite book of my favourite series” for today as well!

    • emmawolf says:

      I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read them, but CoS was my least favorite until HBP came out. Certain things revealed there made me appreciate CoS a lot more.

      I know I already asked you, but what is your order of the books from favorite to least favorite?

What do you think?

